Alumni Service Award

The Alumni Service Awards gratefully acknowledge those who have served faithfully in helping to develop a greater Iowa Wesleyan College.

Recent Award Recipients

Mick '72, B.A., and Susan Brown Michael '72, B.A.
were the recipients of the 2013 Alumni Service Awards, presented annually to those who have served faithfully in helping to develop a greater Iowa Wesleyan College.

They have been enthusiastic supporters of Iowa Wesleyan College since their days as students.

Sue was active in Zeta Tau Alpha, a cheerleader and a member of Sheaffer-Trieschmann Hall Court, Qui Est and Tri-S. She served on the Homecoming Committee, helped organize Greek Week and gave campus tours. She was selected as Homecoming Queen her senior year.

She graduated with a degree in home economics, then joined the IWC staff as an admissions counselor. She was promoted to assistant director of admissions. She went to Coe College and joined their Admissions Office staff. She worked in sales for International Tours Travel Agency and Merrill Lynch before returning to college admissions work; she spent the last 17 years of her career at Sullivan University, retiring as Director of Admissions in January of this year.

Mick, a physical education and business major at IWC, was active in Phi Delta Theta on campus. He was a member of the Tiger baseball team, where he was named Small College Baseball All-American in 1970 and team MVP in 1971.

Following graduation, Mick joined the IWC Admissions staff. He later became associate director of Admissions for Coe College. He went on to a career in sales, working as regional sales manager and then international sales manager for Link-Belt Construction Equipment Corp. He was regional sales manager for Case Construction Equipment Corp. before becoming regional sales manager for JCB Corp., from which he retired in March.

Sue and Mick have actively supported Iowa Wesleyan as alumni by hosting alumni events, organizing class, sorority and fraternity reunions and assisting with student recruitment. Sue has served on the Alumni Board and the Iowa Wesleyan College Board of Trustees. Mick currently serves as a member of the Iowa Wesleyan College Board of Trustees.

Past Award Recipients

2011   Warren Ludvigsen ’74   
2011   Jill Dolby Ludvigsen ’74   
2010   Jo Anna Beck Wendel '56   
2009   Glenwood Tolson '38
           Charles Espy, Jr. '63
           Jan McCurdy Espy '65
2008    E. David Mineart ’60 and Elizabeth “Libby” Gentry Mineart ’60
2007    J D “Schim” Schimmelpfennig ’63 and Kathy Grandall Schimmelpfennig ’64
2006    R. John Badger, Jr. ’62
            Bernice “Bunny” Hollander Foster ’62
2003    Philip J. Ciarco ’66, L.H.D. ’06
2002    Byron F. Johnson ’62, D.B.A. ’86
2001    Donald C. Wiley ’70
2000    A. Lowell Doud ’56, LL.D. ’05
            Dr. F. Max Stein ’40
            George W. Stein ’38
1997    Waunita W. Hobbie ’46, L.H.D. ’92
1996    Donald E. Young ’50
1995    Herbert L. Jones ’51 and Colleen Farnsworth Jones ’50
            Roger H. Campbell ’55
1994    Melvin B. Bergstrom x42
            Rev. W. Clifford ’39, D.D. ’04 and Maxine Martin Manning x42
1993    Margaret Robertson Ornduff ’28
           Donald R. Ornduff ’28
            Virginia Caris Van Tuyl ’38
            Richard H. Van Tuyl ’50
            Special Service Award
            Michael S. Jurgensen ’84
1992    Wilma Stephens Evans ’40
            Dr. Austin J. Evans ’41, Sc.D. ’76
1991    Jack E. Stiles ’59
            George W. Alexander ’43
1990    Maisie Taeger Green ’49
            Merle C. Unkrich ’54, LL.D. ’93
1989    Robert T. Dodder ’51, D.D. ’72
1988    Louise Schuerman Hatch ’46, L.H.D. ’91
            Jean Wells Shook ’49
1987    Dr. Louis A. Haselmayer L.H.D. ’67
1986    Kathleen “Kay” Olson Lange ’45
1985    John M. Cavanah ’65
1984    Joan Maxwell Anderson ’70
            R. Michael Calloway ’59
1983    Winifred K. Thomas ’69
1982    Barry E. Halden ’66
            Margaret Deahl Hileman ’46
1981    Alma Spencer Chittum ’23
            William D. Powell x54
1980    Russell ’31 and Mildred Bell Baker x33
            Dale E. Longwell ’64
1979    Elizabeth Davenport Garrels ’67
            John ’67 and Rita Russell King ’65
            Lori Williams Wright ’64, LL.D. ’91
1978    Randall K. Perry ’70
            Charles R. McCuen ’50, LL.D. ’83
1977    Gary N. Shaw ’60, LL.D. ’93
            Howard H. Hills ’30
1976    Warren L. Fye ’55
            Arnold F. Swensen ’63
1975    Dr. Dale E. Garrels ’56
            Harold F. McLeran ’25, LL.D. ’63
1974    Chicago Alumni Club
1973    Roger D. Williams ’60
1972    Carol J. Nemitz ’56, L.H.D. ’03
            Patricia Barrett Kimball Martin ’50
            Alanson K. Elgar ’49, L.H.D. ’87
1971    Dr. R. W. Poulter ’33
            Dr. Robert S. Wettach ’52
            Ellen Gardner Taylor ’19
1970    Marjorie Huston ’32
1969    Josephine Rogers Carper ’35
            Special Service Award
            Ethel Van Hon Garretson ’56
1968    Fred O. Ekstrand ’25
1967    Richard G. Hileman ’48
            Albert L. Leatherby ’51
1966    Dr. Raymond J. Schlicher ’35
            Charles L. Kimball ’50
            Elinor Thompson Lundgren ’34
1965    Columbus F. Hayes ’15
            Kenneth Swartz ’21
1964    Ruth Crane Looker ’33
            Helen Crane Rohde ’32
1963    Mary Crane Ewart ’29
            E. A. Hayes ’25, L.H.D. ’64
1962    Robert K. Beck ’37, LL.D. ’77
            Robert J. Wustrow ’41
            Beulah Billingsley Hayes ’17
1961    Clarence S. Johnston ’17
            Denis T. Jones ’29
            Lois Davison Newburg x30
1960    Meta Jane Brooks ’36, Sc.D. ’61
            Forrest Stewart ’32
            Richard C. Lee ’31
1959    Charles C. Espy, Sr. ’32, LL.D. ’66
            Warner A. Russell ’26, L.H.D. ’67
1958    Elizabeth “Betty” Keyhoe Clark ’29
            Joseph A. Panther ’34
            A. Marvin Patterson ’29, L.H.D. ’67
1957    Sam R. Ewart ’29
            J. Russell Weir x14