Athletic Hall of Fame


On October 7, 2003, the Iowa Wesleyan College Athletic Hall of Fame was created to honor former student athletes, coaches, teams, or others who have significantly impacted or brought special recognition to Iowa Wesleyan College (IWC). Guidelines for selection of inductees into the Athletic Hall of Fame are as follows:

  1. Nominees may be living or deceased, and may be an entire IWC intercollegiate sports team as a whole (not as individual members).
  2. Nominee must be an alumnus/na or other person (individual or team) who has had a significant impact on or has brought special recognition to athletics at IWC.
  3. The Athletic Hall of Fame committee may approve exceptions to nominations.
  4. Nominees must be (35) years of age or older, except in extraordinary circumstances.
  5. Nominations should be submitted to the Alumni Relations Office, Iowa Wesleyan College , 601 North Main, Mt. Pleasant, IA 52641 by December 31 annually. Previous nominations may be considered for a period of five years along with current nominations.
  6. Election of individual inductees and team honorees shall be made by a majority of the Athletic Hall of Fame Committee at the annual meeting in February. Inductees will be recognized at Homecoming in October. A permanent recognition plaque will be placed in the Ruble Arena, and a smaller version will be presented to the inductee or surviving family member.

Recent Award Recipients

Gerald “Jerry” R. Lange ’48
Gerald “Jerry” Lange ’48 enrolled at IWC in the fall of 1942, following a stand-out athletic career at New London High School, where he played football, basketball, baseball and ran track. He was a four-time letter-winner and all-conference pick in both football and baseball.
As a freshman at Iowa Wesleyan he lettered in football, basketball and baseball. His education was interrupted after one year by World War II. He enlisted and trained as a Naval aviator, serving from 1943-1945.
Upon returning to campus in 1946, Lange resumed his Tiger athletic career on the football and baseball fields. He was a captain of both squads. But it was on the gridiron where he made his biggest mark.
Despite losing most of the 1946 season due to a knee injury, Lange came back in 1947 as a top player in the Iowa Conference. He was all-Conference halfback, the leading scorer in the Conference and was named first team all-Iowa Conference. After graduation, Lange signed a contract with the Chicago Cardinals football team, where he was one of the last three players cut from the roster. The Cardinals traded him to the Detroit Lions.
Lange returned to Mount Pleasant, remaining involved with the College and Phi Delta Theta. He coached football and men’s track in the early 1960s and served as assistant men’s basketball coach.
Jerry was married for 51 years to Kay Olson Lange ’45. He died in 1998. His children, Todd Lange ’72 and Martha Lange Boesenberg ’73, will accept the award on his behalf.

Stacy Ticknor Boudreau ’01
Stacy Ticknor Boudreau ’01 made her mark as a Tiger in both volleyball and track and field.
As a volleyball player she set records for kills in a season and kills per game average. She still holds the IWC record for kills in a match and the season record for solo blocks.
She was twice named to the Midwest Collegiate Conference Volleyball First Team and the NAIA Region VII Volleyball First Team. She was also named NAIA Honorable Mention All-American and NAIA Scholar-Athlete All-American for volleyball. Boudreau earned NAIA All-American track and field honors indoors in the pentathlon and outdoors in the heptathlon her senior year. She won five events in the league’s outdoor championship that spring. She was named Midwest Collegiate Conference Female Athlete of the Year for Track and Field in 2000 and 2001.
Following graduation, Boudreau served as Iowa Wesleyan’s assistant volleyball coach in 2001 while teaching physical education for the local school district. The following year she was named head volleyball coach for the Tigers, a position she held for three seasons. She was named 2004 Midwest Collegiate Conference Volleyball Coach of the Year and NAIA Region VII Coach of the Year.
She served as head women’s and men’s track coach for the Tigers from 2001-2004. She was the Midwest Classic Conference Track and Field Coach of the Year in 2003. Boudreau has been head volleyball coach at the University of Wisconsin – Whitewater since 2005. She has guided UW-W to four WIAC conference post-season tournament titles and a national championship.

Past Award Recipients

Fred Jacobeit '50
Fred Parsons '57
Jerry Courtney '60
Don Lewis '60
Mike Wiggins '88
Ted Lawrence '50
Dave Mineart '60
Phil Johnson '60
Dan Kelly '71
Bub Krieger '41
Joe Thimm '77
Jim Rose
1952 Football Team
1953 Football Team
Betty Sammons
Dr. Harold C. "Hal" Huffman '35
Dustin P. Dewald '91
Sigurd “Sandy” E. Sandberg x33
Vernon "Bud" E. McLearn '55
Donald R. Gibbs ’58
Dr. Douglas A. Ferguson ’68
Kirk R. Soukup ’84
Olan G. Ruble, Hon ’74
Dorothy Welp Donahue x55
Janet Thompson Milner Weston x55
Barbara Johnson Bastow ’58
Barbara A. Sipes ’58
Sandra J. Fiete ’59
Rita Horky '60
Glenda Nicholson Thielbert ’61
Judith Hodson Finney ’62
Dixie Ramsbottom Scherff '63
Lori Williams Wright '64, LL.D '91
Dianne Frieden Havens '66
Peg Petersen Tyler ’67
Charles C. Espy, Sr. ’32, LL.D ’66
Ray L. Patterson ’34
Edd Bowers