Iowa Wesleyan College announces faculty awards

Wednesday, May 21, 2014

Iowa Wesleyan College Professor of Art, Ann Klingensmith, was named 2014 Chadwick Teacher of the Year during the annual Awards Day ceremony April 24. Jay Clover of Middletown, Iowa, was named Extended Learning Instructor of the Year.

Klingensmith joined the Iowa Wesleyan faculty in 1987. She earned her bachelor of arts degree from Graceland College in Lamoni, Iowa  and her master’s and master of fine arts degree from the University of Iowa.

An artist, Klingensmith has received many awards for her drawings, prints and photographs. She has had work displayed around the nation, most recently chosen to be included in the 38th Annual Rock Island Fine Arts Exhibition in Rock Island, Illinois and in the Mid America Print Council Members Exhibition at the South Bend Museum of Art, South Bend, Indiana. She also received the Chadwick Teacher of the Year Award in 1994. Aside from her teaching responsibilities, Klingensmith has served as Chair of the Faculty since 2012 and is a design advisor for Design, the College literary magazine.

The Chadwick Teacher of the Year Award has been presented annually at Iowa Wesleyan College since 1971. This honor was named for Dr. J. Raymond Chadwick, who served as president of Iowa Wesleyan College from 1950 to 1961. Recipients must demonstrate academic and professional excellence, quality of interaction with students, development of effective programs of high quality, and support of student growth and development.

Clover began teaching in the Iowa Wesleyan Extended Learning program in 1996. He has taught IWC evening classes in psychology of business and industry, the family, and psychology of adjustment on campus and in Muscatine and West Burlington.

He earned his bachelor of arts degree in psychology from Iowa Wesleyan College and his master’s degree through Olivet Nazarene University.

The Extended Learning Instructor of the Year Award has been presented annually at the College since 1997. This honor recognizes outstanding teaching through the Iowa Wesleyan College Extended Learning program.